Sunbutter cookies

The cutest helpers around!

I LOVE sunbutter!

This is a fairly recent discovery. I was reluctant to try sunbutter (made from sunflower seeds) with JT because I had heard that its color and texture were very similar to peanut butter. I was worried that if he got used to something so similar to peanut butter that he could get confused easily and mistake one for the other. Now he is old enough to understand the difference, so we decided to try some.

I was really hoping “SB + J’s” would become a fast favorite, but my kids are SUPER picky and so JT has decided he doesn’t like it, which means Molly won’t even try it 😦 But don’t let this dissuade you…I LOVE it!!! And I think if my kids weren’t so darn picky they would love it too.  I love sunbutter and jelly sandwiches (I had SO missed PB+J’s), and I love it on toast and as a snack on crackers. It’s texture, color and smell are very close to peanut butter and it’s delicious. It has a deeper and richer flavor than peanut butter. I actually think I prefer it.

I found a sunbutter cookie recipe on pinterest and was over-joyed! Peanut butter cookies were one of my favorite treats and after falling for sunbutter I knew it would make a good alternative. I used this recipe from baking bites, using JT safe butter and replacing the egg with 3/4 of a jar of stage 2 banana baby food. Just making that criss-cross pattern on the top of the cookie made me happy! The kids had a great time helping me make them too! And they came out great, they are DELICIOUS! I find them to be slightly saltier than a peanut butter cookie. I’m so excited to have another cookie recipe to add to my pretty small cookie repertoire. (Don’t be alarmed if the inside of the cookie turns a greenish color, it’s due to “cholorgenic acid” which is found in the sunflower plant and is totally normal)

Yummy sunbutter cookies!

One response

  1. I, too, love Sunbutter and need to avoid peanut butter. I am going to try these cookies. I also have almond and cashew butter that I may try later on. Thank you for posting this. They look delicious.

Leave a Reply

