Egg Free Easter

All holidays have changed for us, at least a little bit, due to JT’s food allergies. Easter is no exception especially since JT’s most severe allergy is to eggs…and eggs and Easter just go together. I remember feeling totally overwhelmed on the first Easter after JT’s allergy diagnosis. On top of hosting dinner for about 20, I thought I wouldn’t be able to give JT the things I grew up with on Easter. But I learned very quickly that with just a few changes we could be safe and still have a fun day with family. And the changes that we’ve made don’t take anything away from our Easter celebration. In fact, most of them are welcome changes. Like the fact that there are NO chocolate bunnies in the house. Do I miss egg shaped peanut butter cups? Yes. Would I eat an entire bag of Cadbury mini eggs if you put it in front of me right now? Yes! So, in the end, the lack of chocolate is really a good thing. So instead of focusing on what we can’t do, here is what my kids STILL get to do for Easter, even with JT’s food allergies.
The kids still get some yummy treats, they especially love Starburst jelly beans and egg shaped allergen-free rice krispie treats.
JT and Molly still get Easter baskets (that are filled with much less candy than they would be if JT didn’t have any allergies). I like to try to focus on a theme for each kid, like dinosaurs or princesses, it helps me to keep from buying way too much stuff.
The bunny still fills and hides plastic Easter eggs. They are filled with things like fruit snacks, stickers, temporary tattoos, coins and glow in the dark stars.
And we still decorate Easter “eggs”! This year we are making this adorable paint chip egg garland. I’m letting the kids decorate the eggs with glitter glue first and then I’ll string them up. In the past we’ve covered plastic eggs with glue and tissue paper and made embroidery floss eggs.

It’ fun to try to come up with something new and creative each year. Are you avoiding eggs this Easter? What tips do you have to share?

Here we are at Easter 2012!

Here we are at Easter 2012!

6 responses

  1. This is our third allergy Easter. My first was so overwhelming but luckily he was just a baby then. So we were able to ease into it a bit. This year I bought Chocolate molds so the kids will get an allergy-free chocolate bunny. My daughter keeps eyeing them at the store so she’ll be so exciting to find them in their baskets! I’m also doing a bunny cake this year for dessert. It’s good I can’t buy all that chocolate stuff because I would eat it…all too! I love the idea of the baskets having themes and the variety of things in the eggs. Last year the eggs only had jelly beans but I’m going to use some of your ideas for non-candy egg filling!

  2. With multiple food alleriges…every holiday occasion becomes a challenge. With Easter, I would fill plastic easter eggs with stickers for the boys’ sticker books, little cars, etc…to this day, even as teenagers they love to hunt for the eggs..whether or not there is anything in them or not. I have always tried to instil in them…it is not always about the food…what one is celebrating should take centre stage.

    Of course, allergen friendly treats are always welcome…Surf Sweets Jelly Beans, Guardian Angel Foods Chocolate Bunnies and Eggs and a local shop sells maple sugar shaped bunnies that my boys always look forward to each Easter.

    For a Easter craft…check out Eggnots…ceramic eggs that have the look and feel of a real egg! I loved dyeing them this year with natural dyes from red cabbage, yellow onions skins, turmeric, paprika and grape juice. 🙂

  3. Sounds like you’re doing a great job of managing your son’s allergies. I know you’re talking more about Easter eggs to paint and play with than eating them, but I discussed both, including mentioning Eggnots, at http://wildninja.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/eggless-in-seattle/. And I thought that FARE (formerly FAAN) posted a list of allergen-free Easter candy this year. It was either them or someone like Celiac.com.

    As someone with celiac and multiple food allergies, I know it’s not easy, but I look at it as an adventure, more about finding substitutes than cutting things out. There are many things I would have never tried without these bumps in the road.

Leave a Reply

